You’ve noticed that users logging into Dell Wyse Z90QQ10 and Z90QQ7P thin clients are receiving temporary profiles regardless of whether the write filter on the thin client is turned on or off:
You've been signed in with a temporary profile.
You can’t access your files, and files created in this profile will be deleted when you sign out. To fix this, sign out and try signing in later. Please see the event log for details or contact your system administrator.
While I have yet find a permanent solution for this problem, what appears to be a workaround is to:
- Stop and disable the Client Cleanup (also known as NetXClean) service
- Clean up the orphaned registry key representing the user’s profile
- Leave the write filter off
Instructions for cleaning up the temporary profile can be found here in one of my previous blog posts:
Logging into Windows displays the system tray message: “You’ve been signed in with a temporary profile.”
I’ll update this post when I am able to find a solution that allows the write filter to be left on.